The Tao of Vegetarianism

The word Tao is an eastern word which literally translates to “path” or “way”.  I have chosen vegetarianism as my “way” to eat.

I am not usually an evangelist for Vegetarianism, but I’ve seen things in the last few weeks that are making me change my mind.  

Most recently I saw a Humane Society video taken at the Smithfield  Foods pork plant.  I won’t post it here, because I wouldn’t subject anyone to it.  It is one of the saddest things I’ve ever seen. 

I used to think I became a Vegetarian for health reasons, and maybe I did.  But, each one these videos that I see make me so thankful that, for whatever reason, I did.

Karma is a concept that is much more involved than most people believe.  Most people see it as a “what comes around goes around”.   But, it is a blend of our previous actions, thoughts, and deeds coupled with the collective karma of those in our world.  It’s a little scary to think our future is shaped, in part,  by the actions of those around us, particularly in light of the factory farming horrors. 

There was a particular photo in the article that caused my heart to open up. It was a shot of a sad pig looking directly into the camera.   It made me happy that I’d made the choice to become a vegetarian and it made me hope that my choice was moving the needle on the collective karma of the universe in the right direction.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

